Has A Blown Call That Decided A Championship Ever Been As Just As The One That Ended The Czech Bowl?
Now this right here? This is something you'd never see in the states. Don't get me wrong, a blown call at the most inopportune time is par for the course when it comes to NFL officiating, but it would never, EVER be a result of a play made by a white defensive back. Guess that's just an occupational hazard when you play "professional" football in Czech Republic. You have no choice but to trust caucasians to make the smart decision as the last line of defense. If we learned anything from watching Jason Sehorn repeatedly trip over his shoelaces in the Super Bowl it's that having faith in the fairer skinned to make the right play on the ball in a pressure packed situation is almost always a losing proposition.
In all seriousness, you can't give these officials too hard of a time, right? They absolutely made the wrong call, but they kinda had to. Other than for the novelty of it, how can you award a team a 1 point victory on a hail mary that was picked off after not coming remotely close to reaching the end zone? Obviously the losing team is upset and surely thinks they were a bit screwed, but that feeling of being cheated has to be tempered by the fact that they had absolutely no business winning, no? Of course that's a safety by the letter of the law. You can't catch the ball, run eight yards into your own end zone, and down it. That dude would need enough momentum to make Justin Bieber's popularity seem stagnant to claim that making it all the way to the end zone was completely involuntary. Still, as a referee - that's just trying to leave the least amount of people feeling like they were bent over and fucked dry - you have to award the deserving team the championship...if only because it would be a pain the ass to describe the alternative in the online play-by-play.
Leave a Reply.